The Night With… is a charity (SC048739) based in Glasgow presenting salon style concerts of interesting music in intimate, informal venues across Scotland and further afield. Run by Matthew Whiteside, it provides development and commissioning opportunities for young and emerging composers.

In 2020 we won the SMIA Award for Creative Programming at the Scottish Awards for New Music for the 2019 season and Timothy Cooper’s …shadows that in darkness dwell…, commissioned for the 2019 season, was shortlisted at the Ivors Academy Composer Awards.We are also shortlisted in the Award for Recording of New Music at the Scottish Awards for New Music 2021.

Since 2016 there have been 41 concerts with 25 world premières and 7 commissions in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Belfast and Aberdeen. Performers have included Garth Knox, Red Note Ensemble, Juice Vocal Ensemble, Ensemble Offspring, James Turnbull, Wooden Elephant, Joanna Nicholson, Frances Cooper and Carla Rees. Premièred composers have included Linda Buckley, Matthew Grouse, Claire McCue, George Stevenson, Diana Salazar, Emily Doolittle, Timothy Cooper, Sheena Philips, Matthew Whiteside and Samuel Beagles. To find out more about some of the composers featured go to the premières page.

In 2020 we released our first album The Night With… Live Vol. One on TNW Music and in 2021 are releasing three more albums of music performed at The Night With… concerts.

2017 was the first The Night With… Call for Scores for self-defined emerging composers with no age limit. The scores were submitted and judged under a pseudonym, to prevent any bias, with five being selected for workshop and one being selected for première in the concerts. In 2017 the call for scores was for the Aurea Quartet (string quartet), in 2018 for Juice Vocal Ensemble (female vocal trio, 2019 was the Hermes Experiment and 2021 was for Emma Lloyd. 

In October 2018 The Night With… was founded as a Scottish Incorporated Organisation with a board consisting of Carol Main (chair), Andy Saunders (secretary), Matthew Whiteside (CEO & Artistic Director) and Nicholas Bone.The board expanded in 2020 to include Miranda Heggie.

The Night With… is greatful for the support of our audiences and funders. Thank you to Creative Scotland, NI Arts Counil, PRS Foundation, the Hope Scott Trust, RVW Trust, Hugh Fraser Foundation, Nimar Trust, The Fenton Arts Trust, Made in Scotland, Sound Festival and the Belfast International Festival.